Back To Events

ASU Symphony Orchestra: Schoenberg's New World

  • ASU Gammage
    1200 S. Forest Ave. Tempe, AZ
  • Date: November 8, 2019
  • Phone: (480) 965-3434
  • Time: 7:30 PM to 9:30 PM
  • Price: $12 (free student tickets available)

Join us for concert featuring a dynamic collection of works written or revised in post-World War II United States. The first half of the concert presents works by Schoenberg and Korngold, both Austro-Hungarian Jewish refugees working in the United States after fleeing Europe in the 1930s. The concert concludes with Copland’s monumental Symphony No. 3, a work that some have called the “Great American Symphony,” expressing the spirit of a hopeful nation emerging from a generation of war.

ASU Professor Sabine Feisst, a world-renowned expert on Schoenberg, will offer a pre-concert talk revealing the historical and biographical context of these works. Her most recent book, Schoenberg’s Correspondence with American Composers, was published by Oxford University Press in 2018.

Schoenberg: Five Pieces |
Korngold: Cello Concerto
Jennifer Son, Cello
Copland: Symphony No. 3

ASU School of Music events are subject to cancellation. Before making a special trip, please check the ASU School of Music Events website ( or the TUNE hotline at 480.965.TUNE (8863) for up-to-date information.