Back To Events

Vaughan Williams' Symphony No. 5

  • Symphony Hall
    75 N 2nd St Phoenix, AZ
  • Dates: February 17, 2017 - February 19, 2017
  • Recurrence: Recurring daily
  • Phone: (602) 262-6225
  • Time: Friday and Saturday 7:30 p.m.; Sunday 2 p.m.
  • Price: $18-$79

Guest Conductor James Feddeck returns to The Phoenix Symphony in a romantic program featuring the works of Vaughan Williams, Britten and Delius. This all-British program is highlighted by Vaughan Williams’ radiant and lyrical Symphony No. 5, the “symphony of the celestial city.” The evening begins with Frederick Delius’ The Walk to the Paradise Garden, a musical juxtaposition of the immutability of nature and the transitory condition of the human experience. Tenor Paul Appleby also joins The Phoenix Symphony for Benjamin Britten’s Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings, a collection of six British poems on the subject of the night, including both its calm and sinister aspects.